A Very Urgent Message

in #poetry5 years ago

This is a call
to the swans in your chest,
and the pterodactyls in your eyes,
and the primordial reptiles
swimming beneath your tongue.

This is not addressed
to your yammering thinkbrain,
which biffs and boffs about who goes where
and what the right and wrong things are.

This is addressed
to the peacock feather vortex in your mind’s eye,
and the ivy-wrapped baby beneath your dreams,
and the praying mantis woman hiding behind your voice,
and the whale songs between your fingers,
and the sapling that is growing from your crown:

Take the wheel.
Just take it.
Pry loose the dead fingers of dead ideas
and take the wheel.

Let the bloviating throat puffer
fall asleep in the corn,
let the hamsters off their wheels
to make drunken love in the grass
and embarrass their parents in front of everyone,
let the marching armor sentries
rust in the rain
and sprout geraniums,
and take the wheel.

Commandeer this shambling fleshdance,
please,
for there are bone puppets at the helm,
and all they want is to eat ashes.
Release the bejeweled gremlin from its cage
so it can sow sunflowers the size of mountains
and drive wildebeests stampeding through veins
and cackle as the old buildings are torn asunder.

Let this be the first moment
of a very,
very different ride.

Take the wheel
oh unseen nature,
oh green monsoon,
oh gargantuan roots,
oh wise space crone,
oh savage miracles,
oh waking thunder giants,
oh leaf-tongued choir.

Take the wheel,
and take your throne.









Thanks for reading! My articles and poems are entirely reader-supported, so if you enjoyed this piece please consider sharing it around, liking me on Facebook, following my antics on Twitter, throwing some money into my hat on Patreon or Paypal, purchasing some of my sweet merchandise, buying my new book Rogue Nation: Psychonautical Adventures With Caitlin Johnstone, or my previous book Woke: A Field Guide for Utopia Preppers. The best way to get around the internet censors and make sure you see the stuff I publish is to subscribe to the mailing list for my website, which will get you an email notification for everything I publish.

Bitcoin donations:1Ac7PCQXoQoLA9Sh8fhAgiU3PHA2EX5Zm2

Sort:  

Wow...you have impressed me, and that is hard to do. For I only ask for the very best. I have no appetite for anything less than that...and poetry moves me so, unfettered by its definition.

I would say, this is the best thing I have read in a long time. It is beyond a doubt the best you have written since I have started reading you. You now have set a standard that I may know you, and I see you are capable of such profound and deep spiritual and artistic thought...you have a soul Caitlin Johnstone, you have a beautiful soul.

thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89