Ribbon Dance

in #poetry6 years ago


Ribbon Dance


Under a pavilion
many faces watch, hundreds.
Endless pairs of eyes.
None are looking at me.

I don't care.

I'm swaying along,
strands of blue and yellow
that are flowing in the air
such a beautiful fright.

I stopped thinking
about how mom and dad
were a no show
another pinky promise
broken.

Who cares now?
I'm just following Eric,
whose cringing his nose
the same way he did
before the music started,
he's about to stumble,
but wait he noticed,
and catches his balance.

Now he's just awkward,
impatiently halted,
in front of amusing Asian girl Amy.

Amy, she's blissfully lost,
confused, unaware,
that she's a second away
from falling,
only because Omar is ahead,
tangled in his own imagination,
not caring,
he's five paces too late
from our dance routine.

I'm in front of little Karla,
who's clustered with me
in the middle of chaos.

Quietly I listen
to the ooo's,
the awh's,
slowly I tune them out to hear
as the crickets cricket in my soul,
silence fills inside of me.

I can't hear my parents' voices,
my mind whispers who cares?

At the same time the cameras
begin to shutter
it only takes a moment

for the girl
wearing a blue and black vest,
with a musical note slapped onto it
to smile,
and respond who cares?

I do, my stupid heat responds,
my smile dims slightly,
as I suck that realization in
the wind breezes by.

I shake off my disappointment
by continuing on memorizing
and moving to the useless steps
of this dance.

Hoping in the mist
of its trance someone
would be watching me,
proudly.




Read more of my poetry by following the links below: thank you so much for your support.

Bastardo de Guadalajara 

With Hunger 

For Aldehyde 

Sort:  

Congratulations @camposmusing! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @camposmusing! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68