You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meet Dunya Mikhail, An Iraqi Poet Worth Knowing--Profundity With a Light Touch

in #poetry6 years ago

Thank you for sharing this. Is she coming to Steem? "I was in a hurry" really spoke to me, although perhaps in a different way. I feel like I lost my country some years ago as well. As I became more and more aware of the consequences of US tax dollars "at work" around the globe (what % of a cruise missile have I funded with my dutiful payments?) the cloak of national identity no longer felt like a good fit. I do not like drawing it around me. Maybe I cast off my country, instead of losing it - I believe I know exactly where it is. Unfortunately it is in the same place where I left it those many years ago.

Sort:  

I think she might be allergic to social media, in general, but would make a great addition, here, for sure... I know what you mean, brother, about casting off one's country. I did something of the sort as well (with Egypt) but hope against hope that we find our way, sooner than later, battling for our soul as we all seem to be at this moment...

There's a very short poem, that echoes your thoughtful comment, and which I find myself frequently returning to:

Beloved homeland,
how did we let you steer us
so far from home?

—Peter Meister

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68035.11
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63