You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scar Tissue

in #poetry6 years ago

This is stunning, Guy - stunning!
You are always yourself,
even when you don't wish to be.
Even when you'd like nothing more than to
let go
of all the hurt
you've received
and inflicted on others.
On yourself.

Malachite
Well-named!
We try to outgrow our scars,
but it is scar-tissue that keeps us bound,

Everything about this deeply personal poem resonates - not just with me, I'm sure, but anyone who is human and has feelings and a conscience.
Thank you for sharing this.
May the next one burst out of you, not with brimstone and ash, but the fire of love, joy, and all that is good!

Sort:  

May the next one burst out of you, not with brimstone and ash, but the fire of love, joy, and all that is good!

Thankfully, most of my poetry since joining the blockchain had been of this nature. Heck, if you were to see my old poetry, across 7 years, almost all of it was dark. So I definitely appreciate the fact I can tell the painful poetry as being the exception around here.

And I am both glad that my poetry spoke to you, and sad, that you, and others, can actually resonate with it. Thank you, Carol <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87