That's her ( Inspired by 'A Thousand Splendid Suns')

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

'A Thousand Splendid Suns' is a book written by Khaled Hosseini, a writer who was born in Afghanistan and then moved to the States. This is the heart touching tale of an Afghan woman who was born a bastard and fights against brutality, harassment and fear . This book reached deep into my heart and I can't count the number of tears I have shed while being lost in those pages. It has not only made me strong, but has also taught me to count the little blessings in life.

image of the book cover

Here is a poem inspired by this book:

Egoistic, proud
words that shroud
The hurt deep in the heart
Never make way, never part

It is easy to point a finger
Utter words in anger
Never know how they feel
How difficult it is to heal

It is easy to forget
Call it regret
Those days spent
On hating which you are bent

It is easy to find fault
To run, to vault
For you, she is never pretty
All she does is paltry

It is easy to give out hope
'Cause its she who has to cope
When you break promises
And make compromises

Never does she nag
Even when you call her a hag
You think its a joke
But in the heart it does poke

Yet, she wait
Waits.. hoping there's no hate
Cherishing those moments
Without any laments

image

I request that you all read this book once so that you can see for yourself what am I talking about.
Thank you!

Sort:  

I really nice poem, full of emotions.
Congrats.

Thank you so much.

The poem is very powerful,
as it reaches your emotions.

I will read 'A Thousand Splendid Suns'.

Thank you, I love the poem.

Thank you! Do read. I am sure you will love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78