Oh! Sweetheart

in #poetry6 years ago

images.jpeg

Two souls dwelling in one body
Ugochukwu means the strength of God
Eagle is strength
Ikechukwu means the strength of God
What a divine nomenclature union

The essence of life is love
So says Robert B.Mackay
When love dies
The tabernacle of this love,the heart
Equally dies

Since of tides
When the affectionate bond was cut
Perhaps by a diabolic knife
A wicked soul
Or even the unfaithful fate
We fell apart
And you left me in the lurch
Calling me once in a blue

As i lay in my sick lodge now
And write you this letter of love
I feel like a shell from which the nut is gone
My system has rejected the physician's pin
And i'm down in the mouth
In reminiscence of our primeval love

Oh! Sweetie
Have you put me behind?
I recall the days you sang me lullaby
From your lofty voice of virtues
Down your glossy hands of nurture
That fell like morning dew on my thirsty tongue
Give credence to your nursing expertuse

You did teach me say
Thank miss after meal
When i joined the bandwagon and mafia
Your tears called me to order

Past days long
The future unpredictable
The beautiful memories kampala and west indies
My days of visit you honoured with grace
And my outings with you to the tourist centers
All applaud the filial-like love

As i flash back
I become askance of the whole events
Not even a bit space in tour tight to-do-list
Nor that ancient wispwr
That made me ride the cycle of gentility
To my imaginations and thoughts
May i resist the temptation of saying
I'm forgotten'
Whatever, i love you sweetheart

Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Wow! you have a beautiful poem here chidi........

Please look very well, is this meaning ascribed to ugochukwu really correct?

Ugochukwu means the strength of God

good question..
i will say that there are variations in the igbo language, if its not the real meaning , i know the real meaning can be compared to that ..
thanks for observing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65