Death (Unfeeling)

in #poetry5 years ago

fantasy-2542946__480.jpg


Morning comes with uncertainties,
A foggy brain and vision
Followed by a familiar chilliness,
One you don’t want to get rid of.
You live it, you inhale it.
The cold is your safe haven.
You welcome it with open arms.
The only place you know to escape.

Afternoon comes with a haze,
Another feeling you know too well.
They lay straight struggling to breathe.
Sometimes you watch
The gentle rise and fall of the chest.
But mostly you listen
To the deep moan of pain,
Silently willing it away.

Evening comes with chaos.
They have become still,
Hands and monitors pressing them down.
You stare at the motionless bodies
And wonder where the spirit has gone.
You laugh and you cry then you laugh again.
People look on in confusion,
Some point accusing fingers.

Night comes with a numbness.
Eyes wide you marvel
At the finality of death,
And the possibility
Of being happy and sad.
Then you ask yourself
If mourning should be different,
If it is necessary to grieve at all.


I'm struggling to write normal poetry and fiction again. My normal is dark and scary anyway. I finally left to stay with my sister. She lives about an hour and a half drive from the family house - different city. And it helps. My niece and nephews have been on my face. Not complaining. I love them to bits. I just finished helping them do piles after piles of homework. I'm doing alright. I haven't been thinking much lately. Like I said in my last post, it gets better by day.

How's your weekend going?

image source

Sort:  

You seem to be using older version of eSteem!
Please update to newest version to get most out of eSteem, Install Android, iOS mobile app. For desktop Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

🐟This post was manually curated by @minnowsupport 🐟

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87