I Found

in #poetry5 years ago

girl-3141766__480.jpg


I found my voice
Amidst cracks and patches,
Croaking in the beginning
Like a frog in a dirt puddle,
Wiggling it’s weak tail.
I found the words
Amidst debris and stones,
Written in unclear letters,
Hidden under the soil,
Waiting for me to come through.

I found my feet
Amidst sore joints and muscles,
Struggling to stand upright
Like a new born.
Falling without aid.
I found them
Amidst worn boots and jeans,
With holes on each pair,
The threads and pins sitting beside them,
Waiting for me to stitch them up.

I found my strength
Amidst feeble muscles and sinews,
Stretching warily in the morning
Like an old chair,
Creaking when stepped on.
I found it
Amidst lost hope and dreams.
Each looking me in the eye,
Pleading in mockery,
Daring me to make a move.

I found my pen
Amidst shredded books and rat faeces,
Dusty and rotten with age,
Like an abandoned castle
Covered with cobwebs and peeling paint.
I found it
Amidst weak papers and smeared ink,
Splattered as if on purpose,
Blurring the letters and numbers,
Awaiting my arrival.


I wrote this piece while listening to this song. I put up a send me a song status on my WhatsApp and a friend sent it to me. I listened to it thrice and abandoned it, till this morning. I've had it on repeat ever since. I wrote the poem without thinking hard or much. I just let my fingers do the trick.

Tell me your thoughts and don't forget to listen.

Sort:  

Hi chinyerevivian, did you know you can also view this post on Steemie?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97