The Life we Live

in #poetry6 years ago

It happened again today. I was going to write a simple and short poem, but somehow, it got long and complicated. Don’t ask me what I was thinking. LOL. I don’t think I can answer that anyway.

Take a look.

girl-690428__480.jpg
Source

Hello, stranger
Surprised I’m writing to you today?
I know
I don’t understand myself
Perhaps I need to get it all out

Remember the day I met you?
I was sitting on a beach
My legs buried deep into the soil
My hair flying around my face
Away from the world, away from distractions

Solitude, the say
I love the stillness of it
At least I used to
Till you walked up to me
Smiling down with amusement

I never talked about that day
Why I wanted everything gone
I recall your alarmed look at the stones
I had filled my pockets with them
Waiting for the waves to come

You saved me from myself
And from the ugly demons
Threatening to swallow me alive
You held my hand when they reared their heads
Day after day

I waited for your judgement but it didn’t come
I stopped fighting them alone
Because you were there
You showed me the bright side
And encouraged my baby steps

Hello, my love
I’m back on the beach
Neither sitting nor leaving my hair untamed
Today, I’m standing
Staring at the waves
Wishing you had lived a while longer


Thanks for reading!
What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

Really nice poem you got there chi....might check my blog for stuffs like yours

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97