the womb that bore me: a poem for mothers

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

296999_513335828683812_763195459_n.jpg

sassafrass molasses
living lotus
dreamer, maker, thought-shaker

thankful for your beating heart.
agradecida por tu inspiración.

forever proud of your strength,
the soles of your feet touching earth
teaching me humility, unity.

you showed me magic.
me diste vida, pachamama real.

you taught me to dance, to feel the energy between.
you move with me, mis huesos are yours.

manifestation at best, birthing bruja.
love spells in the kitchen, catnaps in the sun.

you sang and played and braided my hair,
tying knots in my heartstrings.

bound together, now and forever
thank you mamá:

por enseñarme a cuestionar la autoridad,
inspiring passion, teaching love.

gracias mama:
for sweetness and strength
for dismantling los ciclos de tiempo
for groove and grace.

my blood es tuya,
mi belleza fell from your lips.
witch womb is this.

half a world away, distance has no hold,
we're dancing in daydreams.

Untitled design (4).jpg

Above Photograph: mi mamá, 1995. pregnant with her soon-to-be coyote om




taking time today to send gratitude to those wombs which bore life,
and love to those who sought and could not.

what are you grateful for?


till next time,
be sweet, stay wild
@coyoteom




U5dtYz7G4exvr66yb4xw6tsYnMMaoXb.gif

Animation by @zord189

U5dtThsN8ep5JhBFB7Ac6eeH1SLnxis_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I can understand those in English, they are so beautifully written. Your love for your mom is heartfelt, @coyoteom :) Happy mother's day to your mom! She has brought up a lovely child too!

This...

you sang and played and braided my hair,
tying knots in my heartstrings.

So beautiful!!

What a wonderful way to say Happy Mother's Day :)

Thank you! My mama really instilled a love of words in me from an early age so I thought a thankful poem would hit the mark for her.
I shared it with her on my instagram as well and she really loved it!
We're both criers haha

Awww that is awesome! I'm a crier too, so I can see you both blubbering away with this one haha

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45