Upon the Death of a Dear Friend

in #poetry4 years ago

"Creative experience foreshadows a new Heaven and a new Earth."
- Nikolai Berdyaev

I've lost a dear friend.

Why must death be a one-way street?


milky-way-1023340_1920.jpg

New Heavens   ~   Source


~Celebrating Your Departure~

by Duncan Cary Palmer

Beloved friend, you've gone away
Before the music ended.
If I could summon yesterday,
I'd ring you up, just to say 'Hej!',
Assorted words appended.

Pages of the calendar
Consume life in a dizzy blur.
It's simply wrong
That you're no longer here.

Was it a final marathon,
No, not a half, a whole?
A splendid dream too grand to end,
That drew you to your goal?

I'll miss our conversations
'Neath the starry sea above,
Discussing mysteries of life
And finer points of love.

But I've one last request of you,
As I've been left behind:
Please—save a thousand years! Nay, two!
Days set aside for me and you.
Mayhap some friends will join our crew?

~

For it has often crossed my mind,
While struggling below,
That Heaven's shore is just the place
Adventure for to find.

Let's quest a quest across a sky
We've only gazed upon.
But this time, let us tread the face
Of spheres that whirl
through outer space;
A marathon, a worthy race,
An exploit worth a try.

For Heavens new, and new Earths too,
Wrapped in eternity,
Provide a slate so vast, so blank,
For which we have but One to thank,
A future, on which we can bank...

Beloved friend,
I'm missing you.


~FIN~


starry-sky-1081939_1920.jpg

On a Whirling Sphere...   ~   Source


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.

P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more poetry,
please check out our Library Poetry Shelf - CLICK below:


@creatr


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

Been gone for a looong time. I'm sorry for your loss. I lost the best friend I've had about the same time, had a heart attack right in front of me. Never mind the poor me anyway. I hope things are better now. Good luck! The world looks topsy turvy now. I do miss the old Steemit days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81