63 Days

in #poetry5 years ago

Men they say are the stronger gender
Women were simply weaklings
but how can Men be the stronger gender
when Mom is the strongest person I know,

your Mom is more of a man than you'll know,
their hypocrisy asides, those words were true
Mom would act as though everything was fine
even when they were actually falling apart,

She would run a thousand miles up hill in the rain
just to guarantee that we feel no pain
She would laugh, even when she's sad
bring out a smile, even when she gets mad,

IMG_20140601_182150.jpg

But it's been 63 days
and Mom just won't get up from her bed
63 days, which mornings and nights made no difference
63 days of frozen heart, even as I try to hold my soul
63 days of which my mind has been tossed up
unsettled, even as my body keeps burning up,

63 days where each sunset, seems to take away my sleep
63 days of watching my Mom, walking across the bridge of gloom
tilting on the edge where bad things bloom
63 days of which sleep has become a luxury
my soul had been set on fire,
a fire, so violent, yet so warm,

My heart aches, my soul was constantly ripped apart
yes I feel torn,
weak from staying strong, her pain has been for too long
yet I have to stay strong, not just for me, but for her too
stay strong even as I hear these demons howl at the ground in terror,

Stay strong, a voice keeps telling me,
even as I keep hearing the songs that humans fear
musical notes in screams, that frightens the ears
stay strong, even as I watch death travel silently in its dark cloak
moving from side to side, taking away its victims sights
stay strong, even as my soul is constantly in this deep dark bottomless place,
stay strong, even as I constantly pray that Mom just makes it through another night,
stay strong, even as this 63 days keeps its count.

Sort:  

Congratulations @daniel-otaniel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05