We Were A Thing..steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

In The Beginning

She was one piece of me that complemented my entire body. Even though i knew we weren't perfect, but damn! Her smile was. No relationship is perfect i always rightly concluded. We felt whatever we called it and it was like the feeling of being meant to be. But maybe just like rules were meant to be broken so was our hopeful promises. And the best part of it was that something in us knew it. We could have tried harder but we were so wretched in this business of relationship, poor communication, weak reasoning, so quick at drawing lame conclusions... But obviously the grass was greener on the other side. Because for the record, patience was our motto and Trust our anthem. Yeah at least that was what i thought. Lol

But day by day our trust was melting away so swiftly without our consent. And our fears were like nightmares on broad daylight. Just like the distance between Love and hate, we never saw the future of our frail fate. Bridges getting wider and mountains getting taller between the fights and struggles. Still very cold during steam and heat conditions. Staying together through thick and thin that was all that mattered wasn't it? And Love it was said to be...

Days of regrets are gone now, we're walking into the days of reckoning! Little did we know that there were days worse than the overwhelming attitudes and hurtful regrettable words that rained from our mouths and kept burning within us. Maybe we've sipped our cup of coffee little by little till there was nothing left in it. Just like one of our usual evening, we sat somewhere in the room wishing it was'nt our last moment. I must admit, the confidence in her look had me hopeless!

I tried to think it through like our usuals. Just like an interview session where you have to convince the boss you're fit for the job. I had to put up one of my 'very serious' look. But funny here, there was no boss and nobody was getting hired! Years of experience was of no use as it were. " I hope we admit our faults and skip the blames" i uttered like the remaining years of my life depended on the sentence. Hoping she would, she flared up like an injured bull still going after its prey. "Maybe there's just no one to put the blame on, I guess" she concluded, already up on her feet. She went out of sight like she was going to do something silly, but trust me, i wasn't going to fall for that. I crossed my already shaking legs inside my baggy short, brushed my face with both palm. Predictably, i had rapidly lost half of my confidence.

Like and angel or most likely a ghost she disappeared in front of me, with her eyes already wet with tears. Unable to absorb the tension boiling up in the room along the line, the lack of courage to look into those Charming eyes of hers, i closed my eyes. Like iceberg, I felt her lips on my cheek. It was sharp and cold. Immediately, she made her way to the front door, reaching for the handle, she sobbed, almost unheard. The last sound i heard was the door being shut. Just like a blind man, i smelt silent all over me... She had gone for good! Awake from my seemed unending, breathing coma, I knew it was all over.

Everything...!

Credits: Francis Hart

Dont forget to

Bless you for reading this.
🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67