Poem: Game of TelephonesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetrylast year

phone-gc2b892980_640.jpg

Game of Telephone

You have to call them, you have to call them.
No common goal, no aligned expectations.
Just do this thing, just do it, just do it.
As if that will magically lead to a next step.

Like a password phrase or what fork to use,
What’s important is that you already know.
So I plan and rehearse (but not too much),
Knowing that those plans might smash to pieces
When they don’t read from a script that they didn’t get.

I’ll need to play it cool, like it’s no big deal,
And it’s probably only me that hears my heart beating out of my chest.




This is a poem I wrote last week while contemplating the feelings of social anxiety I was hit with when I needed to make a phone call to try to follow up with someone that hadn't been responding to email.


(Header image from Pixabay)

Sort:  

The everyday madness ;-))

Maybe I can invite you to our new community for creative writers...?

screenshot_101.png

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-107855

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47