Poem: Two ShipssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetrylast year

TwoShips.png

Two Ships

Two ships set sail on the internet sea
Each beautiful and flawed
In their own ways, their own ways.
The storm comes for one
But blows the other onward
Why does it matter what the people say?

The battered ship, I have reservations,
I can’t voice support without caveats.
But the assaults, the assaults,
They seem unfair
As they stomp their feet and whine
About some kind of mystery box.

But the other, the other, regaled as the best
All artfully scuffed
And forbidding black sails.
Do they really not see
There are gaps in the hull
And the rigging is loose?

And here I sit, unsure, unsure,
If my criticisms are more valid
Than the ones I reject.
The difference feels right
But I can’t quite say why
So I watch the storm from afar.


I wrote this poem several months ago when two geeky TV shows, The Rings of Power and Andor, were both running. I was meditating on my reactions to internet commentary where I felt there was undue negativity toward Rings of Power and some unearned over-praise of Andor.


(Header image was created using this Pixabay image as the starting point)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48