Caffeine is what gets my blood pumping; I am aware of all the negative side effects

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image

My caffeinated Christianity is a relationship with God that takes into account my life in this body and my handicap as a sinner. It's my need for a wake-me-up in the morning that does not exclude the spirit's presence in my life. It's my way of connecting meaningful with others. It's a holy connection with a human kick - an experience with Christ that would have held up quite well with my dancing classmates, had I given it a chance and not isolated myself.

Caffeine is what gets my blood pumping. I am aware of all the negative side effects - it shrinks my capillaries, it's addictive, it gives me acid stomach, it may shorten my life, and it will eventually kill me, but life isn't exactly kind to me either, and knowing that does not hinder my faith. Indeed, it makes faith more real. This is life as I know it in the world, the one I'm, the one God loves, and the one Jesus came to.

It's the world full of people God is crazy about, even though many of them don't know it.

***Picture credited to my brother ***

Sort:  

THere are conflicting studies and articles about the effect of caffeine that it's confusing what to believe anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56