Let's play a game (Original Poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

Let’s play a game

Let’s play a game,
you say.
A game of knights and princesses.
Of pawns and men.
I’ll be king and you’ll be my queen.
We can go with the light or drown in the darkness.
Play it fast or savor each move,
there’s no rush.
I grin and accept,
you doubt.
Why are you looking at me like that?
I get the board but you don’t get the figures.
You say I’m not ready and I break the board.
Fuck you.

Let’s play a game,
I say.
A game of red and blue,
of green and yellow.
Where we can be ourselves,
and do what we want.
No more black and white,
no more stupid fights
A game where I’m not angry,
a game where you trust me.
We set up each side,
yours before mine,
but you don’t like your team,
so you through the parts away and I leave.

Let’s play a game,
we agree.
No more figures, no more boards,
zero pieces, there’s no cards.
This one is played with only ourselves.
You move me and I’ll move you,
let’s see if we can make out who’s who.
All my fury, all your qualm,
if it took us here it was worth the fall.
I kneel down and offer you my heart,
it drips down my arm and pulses to my head
as I look into your eyes and wait.
You turn and move towards it,
but you take too long and I put it back.

Let’s play a game,
I nod.

Dedmaco

Sort:  

Loved it, I resteemed cause it truly made me think, you have a lot of talent I can tell. Keep on posting ;3.

Thanks man, appreciate it!

You should post your short film here buddy. Would go down a bomb. 👍

Very well written! Upvoted and Followed!
We of @poetrytrail are always looking for quality content like yours! Hope you will hop on too and take part in our poetry and story writing events, it would be a shame if we couldn’t share this great writing with more of the community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62