Poem: Floodwaves

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Floodwaves

a fast current
rose up in my throat when i last spoke to you
in a jumbled mess, didnt know where it was going
or what i destroyed or if it matters what happens after a flood,
its just a building or a car or a parking lot under that water
landmarks change : a person, a keyboard, a meme,
a moment, a time, a song, a blender, a dream
... the earth is constant with its storms
(Gina, can you ..help me)

we shared a steady current of words
that rose and fell and surrounded me
daily with something that flowed
between calm shores, your words
pressed against me and caught my breath

but one day i couldnt see the edges any more

and i cant make sense of the
flood that swelled in my chest
poured through my arms and out my fingers
till it smashed us both
and washed our words away

and i regret
that this poem
is the only way
i can talk to you today.

tree_mirror.jpg

Sort:  

indeed the earth is constant with its storms. but it's this same force that mirrors the inner force of Depression, anxiety, and fatigue, which play an essential part of the process of metamorphosis, both personally and on a collective(gaia) level, they shed a bright light on the transition from an old to the new.

P.S. I followed you from @adammillwardart =D

I just followed you back and am reading your blog! really great stuff, I look forward to more. Yes i so agree with you, this was a poem where i needed to express some emotions so I could get them out of my head, and it really helped. Thanks for reading and for the feedback, and I truly, truly like your take on depression and anxiety. I just read your most recent post, about this,

There's this weird emptiness that is between everything, the static between connection. Everything is connected, and everything is nothing, and this nothingness, is the void, it's dense, cold and timeless, the nowhere and everywhere, the nonduality behind the doors of perceptions.

Excellent... its a great reminder about the function and role of these emotions (or lack therof). And your song where you say , oh I am going to botch it, but basically that the present has a message from the future. And if you slow down and listen to your mind it will give the answer. I am in a headspace like this now, where if i have an emotion, I want to let it talk to me. If it has nothing to say to me, then I will set it aside for a while till it can. Otherwise I get into a loop, trying to understand myself, and all I am doing is overthinking. My overthinking things is kind of destructive. Which I am talking about in this poem... a flood of emotion and thought that i just let get out of check... When a thought or feeling speaks to me in a way that is helpful, then I want to be creative with it. Hence I made a poem today.

Thanks again for reading.

oh nice, if you cut up the present, the future leaks out! Yea thats exactly what Unconscious TapeLoops Blues is about, me trying to process these emotions, so they don't loop in the back of my mind, so I can keep on evolving and progressing to my next experience, emotion. where am in control and not some unconscious tape-loops!

thanks for listen to the Unconscious TapeLoop blues =D

i always look forward to reading more from you, my new steemit friend

I dig the mandala! Found you from @nonameslefttouse 's post, followed you :)

Thanks! Its actually from a photo that I took, but someone else made it into that awesome mandala with an app. I shall check out your blog, too!

I realized today that your name comes awfully close to a hustled 'flood'. If it were to be dfloo, it would really be the case
now you're just flood without an o

Anyhow, I hope you go with the flow (as usual), without literally going with the flow

<3 Vincent

Yeah there's a lot of water and waves everywhere in this post. I am ok, just needed to express some feels. <3

I totally understand that and didn't feel any negativity there
Glad to hear that you're safe :>)

and i cant make sense of the
flood that swelled in my chest
poured through my arms and out my fingers
till it smashed us both
and washed our words away

This poem is in no way cheesy,dflo. Some really wonderful work in metaphor and I love your tone. It is special and unique ... there is a captured real life feel to it and yet an expansive nature. Not cheesy:)

Thank you! I was feeling a bit melodramatic with it i guess. Its to a person ( I very often write to people with my poems) and so I was feeling vulnerable about it as well... Maybe I should just say , 'with this poem" at the end.

It is a very strong write ... there is absolutely no reason that I can see to feel vulnerable about or to apologize for it. It's great:)

There's a lot of emotion swirling around in this flood of words!

yes amber, thats kinda my main mode , haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05