Lover's Lane

in #poetry6 years ago

IMG_9343.jpg

There was the love
Who I loved so deeply
That I forgot to love myself
The love that I clung to
Long after the staleness set in
Out of stubbornness
.
There was the love
That I loved with the deepest parts
Of who I am
And the soft hedonism
Of living out on the edge
Of the world
And society’s shackles
A sweet survivalist
Needing nothing but saltwater and moonbeams
But it was a selfish love
A separate love
A love that cannot be
.
There was the love
Where I tried to split the difference
To take the middle path
Wrapped up in potential
But not in substance
A spark that could not
Build into a true flame
.
And now
There is the love affair
With myself
Pursuing hopes and dreams
And whims and wonders
.
Exploring this great wild world
Unafraid of money
Of expectation
Of the future
Nor haunted by the past
.
In love with
And grateful for
Every golden moment
Spent on this earth
.
And it’s a love so rich
That I am full to the brim
So full
That I can finally give to others again
.
.

Original Poetry and Photography by Heather Cobb
Photo Location: Baja California Sur - Eastern Cape

Sort:  

This poem is beautiful and poignant. I can relate. You should post more often.

Thank you @sansoncarrasco - I appreciate your kind words. You are right - I should post more often and intend to do so. The exercise of writing can be so cathartic, and I am appreciative of the Steemit platform and the supportive community it builds. I am only just beginning to get acquainted, but am looking forward to being more active. All the best - looking forward to reading more of your work as well - and thanks again!

You don't even have to write much, a bunch of good photos of the beautiful places you visit in your travel would be something good to see for sore eyes. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67