Untethered - Part I

in #poetry6 years ago

100_2376.JPG

Here are a few poems from a chapbook I completed recently...my very first chapbook actually. Over the past year I broke off a 7 year relationship/engagement, was laid off from my job, and my grandmother passed away. I have taken to traveling, surfing, and writing poetry to process it all and give me purpose as I figure out where my life goes from here. I hope this writing finds you well, and you enjoy the read. All my love - Heather

...........

Weather Vanes
.
Stream of consciousness
Stream of joy
Stream of sorrow
Stream which winds
Every which way but Up

River of light
Dance with me
Keep me warm in the night
Oh please baby please

Tornado of chaos
Please leave me be
Please spare my house
And my family

Earthquake of terror
Of uncertainty
Rattle my windows
Rattle my walls
But please oh please, leave me be

Sweet rains of spring
And snow melts of winter
Coax the buds to flower for me

..........................

Celestial Orbits (Weather Vanes pt. 2)
.
Raw emotions of melodrama
Maintain the perspective, you must
Flailing into the unknown
A new universe
A star has just blown
Her pieces will fly across the night sky
And it will be a damn good show

Celestial orbits and cosmic order
Looking to the stars to help seal our fate
There is such order within
That great big unknown
We cannot know it
Yet we still try to make it our own

Working ourselves into a tizzy
Trying to sit up on proverbial thrones
But the universe works just fine without you
My great Kings and Queens
Your space will be overgrown

But don’t lose heart
No don’t let it get you down
You were here
For at least one good merry go round
And you played your part
Yes you did
Tiny Gods
All of us

We’re here a short time
And we’re gone tomorrow
In the Great Grand Scheme of Things
We all play our part
We all have our degrees
Of love and light and entropy
And order
Of pulling meaning
Out of chaos
Fighting gravity to build a life

....................................

Lost at Sea
.
Talk like the people talk
Go do what the people do

Sleep when the people sleep
Watch what the people watch
Regurgitate what the people regurgitate
Rinse, wash, repeat

Love like the people love
At least we’re figuring this one out
Poco a poco
Step by step

Little by little, maybe we’ll right this ship
Sail off into a horizon
Where there’s space for every one of us
Even me and you

And then we’ll talk like the people talk
And we’ll do what the people do
And we’ll dream like the people dream
And maybe then
We won’t feel so lost at sea

..................................

Life Imitating Art
.
Something about faking it
Faking it ‘til you make it

Do what you see on the TV Screen
And do what you see everyone else doing
Take it home and practice
Just You and Me

Follow the plot lines
Just like on the show
Follow the plot lines
Try to make it grow

Make sure you don't step outside
That little white line
It'll make your brain explode
If you go somewhere, nobody ever told you about
The consequences will be dire
The house of cards will crumble
And you'll be left there
With yourself
And the world at your fingertips
How terrifying

.............................

Merge!
.
What can you do when you've got nothing else?
You can write
You can use your imagination
To provide you with escape
Escape from boredom
And bad thoughts
And bad attitudes

What can you do when you've got nothing else?
To communicate
Let it flow out of you
Let it connect
Even if you have nothing
You can tap into the vibration
Of this beautiful great Universe

Put your tortured soul on paper
Let it bleed
Let it purge
Let it out
Connect
Put your pen on the paper
And just see what you'll see

Flow
Ride the wave
Let your mind oscillate
Back and forth
Don't be afraid

Let it all out
Let it bleed
Let it purge
Take yourself to a place
Where all thoughts converge
Merge!

Merge with the universe
It's how to connect to God, you see!
It’s better than the prescribed version
That's been sold to you and me

Figure it out for yourself
No one else is gonna do a better job than you, you see

You're all you got in this world
You are your only guarantee
Your own mental fortitude will carry you through
In your time of need

.
.
Original Poetry and Photography by Heather Cobb

Photo: Angkor Wat, Cambodia

Sort:  

Dear, Heather. It's good you posted after all this time. I can specially relate with. "Weather Vanes" and "Lost at Sea". Best regards.

Thanks so much @sansoncarrasco. It is great to hear from you, and I greatly appreciate your support of my writing. I have been traveling through Portugal for the past month, and while I have been writing in my notebook every day, I haven't been as disciplined with my online presence. I am about to settle down for a few weeks in Lisbon, where I hope to dedicate more time to Steemit and finalizing an e-book. I hope you are well - sending you all my best from Portugal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57