The Beautiful Unknown

in #poetry6 years ago

1488098_188629444660054_1705781106_n.jpg

THE BEAUTIFUL UNKNOWN

School dances
sudden glances
quick romances
a flashback
into the
beautiful
unknown

Hours in
preparation
anticipation
but
will she notice
it was all for her

The room
deafening
shouting instructions
to your wingman
whose support
is paramount

Lights flash
and crawl
up the walls
in a room
bursting with people
she is the only one
you see

A long
deep
inhale of courage
throwing caution to
imaginable
consequences

If I make
the lingering walk
alone
across the gym floor
will she take my hand

I'm here
I guess I'll just take
the chance
but will she say yes
to the dance

If you enjoy this post please RESTEEM - UPVOTE - COMMENT - FOLLOW @doghaus

© Doghaus
6 February 2018

I own all rights to the text in this post.

Image https://goo.gl/images/ETvi4P

Honestly,
Doghaus

Sort:  

Your post was selected to be included in my "Diamond in the Rough" series. It's goal is to promote high-quality posts made by new steemians (red fish and minnow) thereby helping them get the exposure they need to grow and thrive within the Steemitverse. You may check the related post Diamonds in the Rough @sandalphon.

Thank you @sandalphon for recognizing and supporting creative works (including poetry) on steemit. I am honoured you selected my work and will surely be inspired by the other posts you selected.

Love this Rumi-like poetry @doghaus, having experienced that moment of trepidation, with a touch of fear, heart thumping, mustering up the last vestige of courage.
Then she smiles and offers a gentle wave and it suddenly dawns on you that it is meant for the guy standing behind you!!
It is not how many times you fall down, it is how many times you get up again, dust yourself off and keep that beating heart open - that's what counts. More please!

Exactly @cause-no-harm, that was the moment I was attempting to re-create...

...and you did it admirable @doghaus, thank you!

she will say yes, after all its just a dance
better try , than regret

I love your blog and everything you post pleaseeee upvote my comment would mean a lot to me.

I love the fact you love my blog @vanemilano but on steemit we discourage people asking for upvotes. The best way to get an upvote is to either make creative meaningful posts or to make meaningful, thoughtful comment on others posts. Best of luck doing that and you will earn an upvote.

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

beautiful lighting, upvote me

Thank you for the compliment @khairolandini but the best way to get an upvote is not to ask for it. It is to either make creative meaningful posts or to make meaningful, thoughtful comment on others posts. Best of luck doing that and you will earn an upvote.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Beautiful photography

This photo is not an original but did convey the feeling that I felt complimented the poem. Thanks @yashu.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68