You and Me (Original Poem)

in #poetry4 years ago

pexels-photo-556667.jpeg
Source

I wake up at dawn and I see myself in the mirror

Who is this who looks back?

The face looks familiar

Like a younger version of me

In a time I used to be free

This mirror plays tricks on me

So I just let it be

I look out the window and where once the sun was shining

Now there are only black clouds, winds and storms

So sad and dark the even the land it transforms

But that picture of you is the only thing that my heart warms

I hope that one day the light will come again

I hope that one day the sun chase way these storms

And maybe, just maybe you'll return

Make the fire in my heart again burn

For this time away from you one thing I learn

without you, the darkness in me grows uncontrollably

But once you're here the darkness will recede hopefully

And you and me shall be again and forever...free.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dominustheus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71