Waking up in the 21st century.

in #poetry6 years ago

Hello guys,
It's your potential blogger here again.

Sometimes we all experience a certain moment of absolute silence even when in the midst of a large and noisy company. We might just feel withdrawn for no reason, so we take to our needs and seek solace in isolation. It is at these times that we get all sought of thoughts. They do say an idle mind is the devils workshop after all. Here's a poem the birds whispered to my ever listening ears.

Waking up in the 21st century

The sun is up this morning
That proud titan never seems to quiet down
But we love him, we admire his courage and consistence.
I shut my windows and free up my curtains,
The world has become too rowdy a place

I listen to the lorries and vehicles
All busy in the name of commerce
I think of a time when commerce was on the sea
Never to border us with her excesses

I step out of my comfortable sleep corner
Opened up the magic box of food
One good thing the contemporary times offer
A box that preserves even the most undurable of food

I step out of my living quarters into a street of stones
Now dressed like these so called civilized versions of me
They seem to never give a care for the next person
They are hypnotized by small rectangular mirrors
They say the world revolves around it

Their language is now faster than I can pick
They've developed now, "slangs"
They now perform the weirdest of courting rituals
Even one that involves same gender

They have the better of everything
But the worst of it socially
I can't say much but for
I'm but an old crazy man


![image]() Image source pixabay.com
From your potential blogger ![image]()

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62