ONE WRONG TURN

in #poetry6 years ago

image

Looking battered and shattered
Nothing even mattered.
Not our footsteps in the sand,
Not our sweaty shaking hands

But how did we get here?
How did we end up in this place...
Laced with fear.
How?
Why?
how?

It pains my heart so
To gaze painfully
at my sweet loving wife,
Gasping for breath
Fighting for her feeble life.
Our souls locked together
Entwined with the union of our hands
Smeared with the hot blood
Of our innocent souls.

How did this happen?
My vision, blurry now,
Only fragments of my mind greet me now.
But, i recall. I remember........

Kissing my wife good bye

I remember........
Putting on my ironed white tie

I remember......

The smile on her ever radiant face
When i looked at her one last time
And exited with grace.

Yes! Now i remember it all too well.
My ignorance, that makes my ego swell.
If i had just walked away
And had not fought all day
No evil would had befell us today
What a disaster, my heart is in dismay.

Oh! What wrong i have done
Not to myself.
No definitely not.
But to my loving wife
And to my feeble conscience
Whose council i willingly ignored
Feigning pretence.

How, Is that right?
Looking at my wife's immobile figure.
Nothing else mattered.
Not the blood on our hands
Not the sharply cold sand
Nothing!
Nothing......

I don't know what came over me when i wrote this poem but i wrote it anywhere it's a tragic poem that talks about the soliloquy of a man dying hand in hand with his loving wife on a deserted beach.

Then the dying man went ahead to talk about what happened before he found himself in that situation. Feeling sorry for not waking away when he should have

At the end he regrets his actions which led to the death of both him and his wife.

my pen bleeds

image1

Sort:  

The best poet on steemit... Am feeling you boss

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ehisoria from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

@Ehisoria, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82