Montreal, Mon Souvenir (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Though I must leave,
the dust of you
is still on my feet,
mon souvenir.

In my memories,
you are filled
with splashes
of abstract color,
an easy smile
and, like a soft,
sheer curtain,
dancing freely
in the wind.

Time so easily passes
on a sidewalk cafe,
sipping a glass
of Bordeaux
that shimmers, like
a jewel in the sun.

The cathedral bell
rings thrice as
an endless parade
of souls pass by
on cobblestone streets,
with each step traveling
closer to their
sacred destinies.

Montreal, you possess
a certain beauty that
makes one wish
they were immortal
and I feel the
sheer joy of all the
other ghosts
and raise my
glass to them.

Despite what
darknesses dare
to descend on
this world, it will
seem a little brighter...
my faith in humanity
will be restored
each time I recall
a place like you exists.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com. Images are original.)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. We are thrilled to announce we'll be debuting the HardFork Film Series Teaser Trailer at SteemFest2 in Lisbon! Hope to see you there!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

A touching tribute to a magnificent place this is. Beautiful photos Eric.

Thank you, Lydon! It's an incredible city.

Wow you have just gotten a spot on the STEVE'S TOP5 POST.
This is good writing........

@ericvancewalton This is actually some incredible function! Followed.
This really is supercool! Thanks! Followed

A wonderful work @ericvancewalton, especially liked the lines "my faith in humanity
restored,
just knowing such a place,
how do you exist "
We now so it does not suffice!

great to read one of your poems again, I've missed them here on Steemit! sounds like you had a really rich and beautiful trip!

Thank you, Ruth! It feels good to be missed. : ) I usually have a few of these brewing per week but just haven't had time to post them lately. The trip was amazing! We'll probably go back next year.

a few poems a week is downright prolific!!

Very nice poem. :) Accumulated emotions flowing through each line. I loved the last stanza. I'm following you @ericvancewalton. I'll be looking forward for more of your poems. :))

I appreciate your support, thank you!

You are very welcome! :)) I'd love to see more. ^^

nice poem :)

Thanks, @happyphoenix! I hope all is well!

great post @ericvancewalton
i'm so liked this poetry
good job 👍

Glad you enjoyed it, thanks!

An absolutely beautiful poem!Well done👏

So glad you enjoyed it, @damira! Thanks for reading!

I really liked it;))The pleasure's all mine😊

poetry came from heart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66