The Blockchain (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The fear is gone,
we are no longer drawn,
into the yawn of
the alarm clock dawn

The slender thread
of humanity is frayed,
we wring our gnarled hands,
suffer, weep, then pray

Teary eyes are useless
when the mind can't see,
let your heart take you deeper
into this soliloquy

Operating on the edge,
this idea has the power,
to free us from our bonds
and now is the hour

Decentralized, dissolving power
from the harbingers of misery,
making words at last ring true...
‘My country ‘tis of thee’

Our future is so fragile,
our reality-- greed and pain,
it’s time for this binary savior
unleash the blockchain.

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

I loved the poem! Who ever thought that we could achieve freedom with the very tool invented to enslave us? Incredible to ponder, yet, we live it more each day.

Thank you! It'll be so interesting to see how this technology evolves in the next few years. I have an upcoming project with a few other Steemians that will introduce blockchain and crypto to a much wider audience. Very excited about that!

Love the blockchain poetry. Nicely done. Let freedom ring!

Thank you! Yes Sir, let freedom ring!

This is awesome! Super inspiring! Here's to unleashing the blockchain!

Thank you, Doug! We will be unleashing it on the unsuspecting public soon! : )

Your poem is awesome. i wish I could come up with that kind of material, and especially that kind of upvotes!

Thanks! You absolutely can achieve the same...don't give up!

I'm about halfway through watching the HBO series called John Adams. It's funny because we've got a blockchain revolution going on right now as well but the only well known name from it is some guy who probably doesn't even exist.

So true...Satoshi! I think more names will go down in history though.

I appreciate poetry about technology.

The blockchain concept is not only an idea whose time has come, but an idea worthy of praise. Thanks for this offering.

😄😇😄

@creatr

You are welcome @creatr. Thank you for reading! I appreciated the technology before but Tim Ferriss' podcast about blockchain (ep 244) gave me a much deeper understanding of it and appreciation of it.

Cool! I'll have to give that a listen... Thanks for the reference!

No problem!

Nice!!

I'm still trying to understand the blockchain concept, but I do understand the concept of your beautiful poem about freeing the spirit of expression, freeing the people of the restrictions/bonds that chain us to centralized gov't and society and giving our fragile future hope and possibilities. Life is very hard compounded by rules, pressures and restrictions that don't let the spirit breath free and the fully. I do love the blockchain connection that allows people all over the world to link and interconnect. Thank-you for always feeding our inner soul with inspiration and hope. Have a beautiful Friday and weekend!..... Cabbagepatch :D

I've come to look so forward to your comments because you put so much thought in them. I'm glad you're still enjoying the posts. If you want a deeper understanding of blockchain I would suggest listening to Tim Ferriss' podcast (episode 244), it's all about the technology and cryptocurrency. I learned a lot by listening to it. It's a long one (over 1 hr) but I listened to it over a few days. It was fabulous. There's no end to what we can do with it. We've only scratched the surface. Thank you and have a great weekend!

Thank-you for the information. I will listen to Tim Ferriss' podcast. I want to thank-you also for the kind comments you wrote. It's funny but every time I channel my inner being, the words just flow out. I only channel it for certain people who are special to me. Your words really inspire me because I can actually hear the flow and serenity of what comes from you. You truly are a gifted and spiritual essence that brings a sense of joy, hope and calmness to those around you. It is like you reached a higher level of being on your life's path. I also sense that there is an abundance of other works that need to come out which will happen in time. It pleases me to know there are people like you out there. Have a wonderful, joyous and happy weekend!!!

I'm really humbled, @cabbagepatch. I am just trying to learn as much as I can during my years here and be the best version of myself that I can be. I think those of us who are lucky enough to have good fortune smile upon us (in either a material or spiritual sense) have a certain obligation to pay it forward. Steemit has taught me a lot about human nature -- it's revealed both beauty and ugliness. One thing I've learned time and time again is the good outweighs the bad. We tend to focus on and see whichever is prevalent within us or maybe, more accurately, we draw to us whichever one we focus on? I've received many gifts from this past year but the largest is connecting with those positive people in this community, many of which I consider to be friends now. Thank you for your friendship! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Through all your comments and posts, I have come to know you and your core values. Trust me when I say, you always present the best version of yourself. This is something rare and a true blessing to see. Despite all that you have accomplished, you never have ever shown anything but a grounded and sincere persona. In your position, there are always those who will show a false front. Sometimes it is hard to wade through all these layers of personalities. But because you are that beacon of light in a dark tunnel, you will also draw spiritual people like yourself. For some reason I was drawn to your writings and how you conveyed pure & good intentions. I always trust my gut and I am glad I did. I just wanted to let you know that you really are so special, that you emit a serene and calming glow about you. Stay true to your course and I know you will find greater enlightenment, happiness and satisfaction. And with this gift you will help others with your words. It is so powerful!!! No need to write back.....I felt compelled to tell you that you really are the REAL thing! And I am rarely wrong ...... Cabbagepatch :D P.S. And I consider you a friend too!

Great poem sir... Upvoted and resteemed :)

Thanks for the support!

Toast is pretty awesome.

Really good poem! I also wrote poems but in French :/

Merci. Génial ! Bienvenue sur Steemit et je vous souhaite bien ici !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73