The Last Vestige (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

It’s time to
take a slow walk
and clear my head.

Let the last vestige
of daylight wash down upon me
and take with it all that makes
me feel incomplete.

At this golden hour
the world is pure magic,
and even the bones
of the city are beautiful.

The sea draws me
closer to its edges,
near enough to whisper,
yet it yells,

telling me me to stay
curious, hungry, and hopeful...
the seeds of change
are often putting down roots
just before they break
through the unyielding
crust of this Earth
and will bring with them
a new day.

Eric Vance Walton

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

This is wittily written. I love the diction, for being simple, and how you interact with nature. Brilliant.

Your verses give the impression of clamness, of some melancholia but acceptance of life as it is, until the last one one. Then we are exhorted with the promises of change - and change always implies more violence.

An interesting poem, well done

lovely words capturing the magic of the golden hour

Beautiful desciribe a dreamy day in your poem .

My favorite part is the last of the poem, I can really visualize what you are saying.

The first two stanza reminds me/ sounds like an Am coming home song.

This can be made into song you know, the lyrics is powerful.

Wow, wonderful Eric, I LOVE THIS. And I think it has to be true. A new day is coming!

Thank you my friend! It really does feel like change is coming on a global level. I think the seeds have been planted and will sprout very soon!

Nice poetry my friend. It says a lot about looking forward.

Thanks, my friend! I know I'm looking forward to Montreal!

Very beautiful words and felt the words of every person who wants to take a little break !

A beautiful poem, my friend, and it feels great motivation for the future! Thank you, Eric.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65