sometimes we need to answer the uncomfortable questions

in #poetry6 years ago


For this life
I feel compelled
and energized to serve it
to make it even better
than it already is.
We all have the ability
We have it in us to be a king or a coward, a slave.
Whenever you feel comfortable
look around and raise your standards
At some point it just feels natural to raise the frequencies | LOVE VIBRATIONS
Builders of foundation
Truly see the power within and share with the civilication
Ancient man was a powerful man
Never stop moving
Work on your roots
Sometimes people need disproving


Some words I found on my laptop as I was going through my stuff, slowly deleting the things I do no need anymore.

Refocussing


Yesterday I was watching a speech by Jordan Peterson, man this guy is intelligent. I wish I came across him when I was still in high school.
So the thing he has to say to students who don't want to go to school is that they should get their damn act together. Students should look at their school career from a different perspective.
You are not in a prison yard, where you are forced to do tasks you don't enjoy. This is the mindset that a lot of the youth has about their school, at least that was my experience.
Now I believe that being in school, going through university, is a great opportunity. It's a chance to grow in ways you can not believe that does not come back in any other stage of your life. So much available resources, an abundance of time, teachers, professors and a library full of books that is there for you to go through.

Your words and your thoughts have the power to change you in a profound way. You can be anything, so why believe you are a loser? You will do yourself such a big favour by believing you are a winner.

When I was in high school, first of all I had very few friends and was being bullied. I didn't have the confidence to speak out about this to my teachers or even to my parents, I was just so ashamed of being a loser. And that's what I told myself... Every time I saw my reflection. Only recently have I started to understand how destructive this is and at the same time I began to perceive how positive thought patterns have the ability to change your viewpoint almost instantly. To actually be saying nice things about yourself, to be kind to yourself. Wouldn't that be nice? These days I like to say that any kind of growth and personal development should come from self love first and foremost.

It's not so much about thinking you are a winner but more about knowing it, feeling it and then it will start to permeate your reality.


So to come back on the Jordan Peterson video I was watching yesterday. One quote struck me so hard that I had to write it down because I felt deep inside that it could have profound effects on my life if I could answer it and then to solve that answer.

What remarkably stupid things am I doing on a regular basis to absolutely screw up my life?

So I started thinking and I noticed that I am already doing a lot of good things that support me in my development. I kept on thinking and I noticed I was staring at an elephant in the living room. I recognized that if I stop doing these things, my life would be streamlined, efficiency would go through the roof and I could achieve more in a single year than I would have in the past 3. I am excited.

So what is the answer?

It boiled down to laziness and wasting time consuming unnecessary information or entertainment while I could be using that time for a big list of other things, a list which I wrote down.


This is the speech I was talking about, I will be sure to watch it again several times because there are so many truths in it. When you ask yourself the questions that Jordan proposes in this video, they can be quite confronting, but the results that come from answering these questions can be profound to say the least.

Sort:  

Hello @erikdenoorman, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks you very much, it's an honour!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60