Lets Read Poetry #30: Sweat and Blood

in #poetry6 years ago


Source

The sweat of the moon sustains
The blood of the sun withers,
Sweat of the moon, withers not,
Blood of the sun, wealthier now.

I dream in the day and plant at dawn
For fear of sweat to wet my gown
I think, I think, I think
I wonder I wonder I wonder

I paint the moon and clean the sun
I watch my noon and kneel to saw
I saw my tree and got my wealth
I wet the soil and bless the weather.

I think the sweat, I think the sustainance
I think the blood. I think the wealtu
I think the moon, I think my mouth
I think the sun, I think the month.

I think, I think and thank
I wonder, I wonder and I rank
I dance, I dance and I drank
I laugh, I laugh, I laugh and thank.



My Analysis

This is a lyrical poem of five stanzas. From the second stanza, the poem is schemed into a sing-song. Although the poem looks like a song or a Lullaby, it has a theme of consciousness and continued struggle which are common and universal themes.

The words, 'sweat' and 'blood' at once suggest struggle or hard work. Down through the poem, there is continued need for hardwork and consciousness for wealth.

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68