Why Should I Dream

in #poetry6 years ago

Why Should I Dream

Why should I dream?
Of that time locked in the breeze
The mesmerizing violence of your touch
That made storms in our hearts
You were like violets in my hand, dancing
In torrents of our ancient dance

Now you stand in front of me
Like a sandstorm in my face
This maelstrom washed memory

Tell me why should I dream?
Of your moans in the moons gleam
And our highs in the firelight
That ushered in the flight of the firefly
And your goodbyes, that tinged the nights
Those lachrymal ancient midnights

Now you stand in front of me
You firefly of my dreams
On these tear soaked dusty streets

Oh these dusty streets
Where my dreams of you never ceased
Like the footsteps that we lost in the dust
And you leaving, like the memory of a gust
On that windy November day,
That rain soaked memory, made of dust and clay

And now you stand in front of me
I wonder where did your firelight lead?
You firefly of my dreams

Now you stand in front of me
Ready to awake my dreams
On these dust filled streets
With windy November kisses
Igniting ancient memories
These streets of home

Now you stand in front of me
What happened to my dreams?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70