You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fallen Light - Original Poetry & Picture Prompt

in #poetry5 years ago

@raj808

I keep on telling people I don't "do" poetry, but this poem, I got. I really did.

I especially liked

Lightening breaks, a beating drum
heralding all that has gone…
to renew in times to come.

That is kind of how one has to feel, and I still do when I go to vote in our young democracy. And in a largely parched part of the country, the promise of rain....

I am thrilled and honoured that my impulsive snap inspired your poem.

Fiona

Sort:  

Hi @fionasfavourites

Sorry it took me so long to respond to this comment, I’ve been dealing with some real world (none-steem) things which took me away from the internet.

I’m so glad you enjoyed the poem, it was born from a combination of ur awesome prompt picture and a moment of pure inspiration. All that imagery in the poem about the dying gods and the storm seemed to fit with the turbulent past, and new beginnings of the south African democracy. I love finding inspiration like this from a fellow steemian, it really helps build community.

Thanks again for checking out the poem :)

You are more than welcome @raj808 and I'm glad that I got the meaning behind your images.

Oh, and I just saw that you got noticed by c-squared! That's great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89