My Childhood Writing - #7 - Riddle Of The Rose

in #poetry5 years ago

I have dug into my old files and have excavated my old childhood writings out of the antiquated file format they were saved in. I am copying them into new formats and decided that I should go ahead and put these out into the world. The "poems" and stories were all written 26 years ago when I was about 12 years old in 1992 and very few of them were shown to anyone outside my family. Now that I am reading through them I am cringing, A LOT! I started to edit the wording but decided I'm better off leaving the writing as is since this was how I wrote at that time.


DSC_7319-1.JPG

Western Leafcutting Bee on Native Nootka Rose (Rosa nutkana)- Fleming Family Farm

This poem is one that sticks out in my memories. I remember well writing it in a note book that is god-knows-where and then typing it into the old word processor. I read the poem and saw its pages so many times over my younger years while using the notebook that the images are emblazoned in my head.

I remember being pretty proud of this when I had finished it and this was one of the few poems that I let/asked other people to read. Granted I was not aware enough at the time to gauge their reactions so everyone very well could have thought it was shit. I honestly don't know where this poem stemmed from or what prompted me to write it. I can slightly remember the writing of it, the images of actually writing it down, but I have lost the connection to the thought processes then that lead to this. The date on my file is January 7th, 1993 which was when I last saved that file on the word processor.


The Riddle Of The Rose


The rose with its
many silk sheets
laid there for
a lover to meet

He will pick the
sheets and let them
float to the waiting
water in a puddle below

Sheet meets water
with the tiniest
little splash

Ohhhhh..
what a sad
time this is

People loving others
all for naught
just to hear
that the other is not
in love with them
but another instead

The lover decided
life is not worth
living if living without
the love of the other

For the other
will comfort and help
to care and love
when one is sick

With darkness of a
rose hath come death
some will mourn
and some will weep
others still will
be glad that they
have no need for
anything anymore

With brightness comes birth
Hoo Ha.. Hoo Ha what a joyous
time it is for all
people exited and happy
for the parents of the newborn child

The baby's first present
is a bright and brilliant
pink and red rose with a
green stem and a note
to save forever

For a rose will
give you the best
of life with a
twist here and there
you will sprout new leaves
while you grow another stem

Buds from everywhere
pop up here and there
in and out they move
caring only for the season
stopping only to bloom
moving on to be groomed

The lover comes along
and as he plucks the petals
off of the stem
he weeps as they flutter to the ground


BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!

Sort:  

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.34% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @flemingfarm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.976 which ranks you at #3712 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 51 places in the last three days (old rank 3763).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 243 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01