Down the River - A Poem by @foragingquietude

in #poetry6 years ago

Down the River.jpg

Source

Floating in the small oblong vessel,
Twisting down the swirling waterway,

Cliffs of rust and gray colored rock,
Climbs high on both sides,

Trees flank the narrow bank,
Guiding me through the gorge,

My paddle sweeps through the cold water,
Rhythmically it moves, pushing my kayak forward,

Up on a narrow ridge of the rock cliff,
Stands a white and gray goat surveying the land,

The sky I can see, is cerulean and clear,
Hidden behind the landscape, somewhere sits the sun,

My life jacket snugs me tight,
Ready to save me against the harsh current,

The trees look painted with delicate brush strokes,
Their colors are vivid and of various color,

The crisp, cool air,
Whips against my face as I push along,

The narrow river, turns shallow in spots,
So clear you can see the mosaics at the bottom,

It's days like today, that fills me with wonder,
Taking in nature's striking beauty,

Being so peaceful and serene,
Bringing a calm to my being.

Footer2.png

Sort:  

Such great imagery. I loved the line about the vest, which is weird because that line was more about personification than the images. You put me in the river. Thanks for posting.

I upvoted a comment since this has already past the payout.

This poem is beautiful! The imagery you describe is outstanding and I feel as if I'm there, peering down from my kayak at the mosaics through the clear water, and listening to the beauty of nature. Thank you for sharing this with us!

Cerulean’s a new word for me! This is so vivid, I dig it!

This feels prosetry-esque, like I'm sitting next to you and trying to absorb the gorgeous landscape as it goes by.

As I imagine the experience provides, this poem radiates with a deep sense of mindfulness and peace. It's so pleasant.

Weather this is written of your own experience, or an extension of your imagination, you have teleported me as the reader there, in the moment!

Yes, a very pleasant read; thank you for sharing, @foragingquietude.

Thanks @carmalain7! It is actually from both experience and imagination. IMG_20161009_154002602.jpg

This is a picture taken while my husband and I kayaked and fished at lake nearby.

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68609.44
ETH 3824.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63