The Missing Key - A Poem of Love and Loss

in #poetry6 years ago

The Missing Key.jpg

Rain floods the window panes,
Mimicking the tears of my eyes,
Heavy and drowning,
To the ground they fall.

My soul reaches,
Searching for the happiness it once felt,
That which is forgotten,
Sits on a dusty shelf.

Days come and go,
They mean nothing without you,
The key that once unlocked my heart,
Has been lost in a vicious sea.

Each day the cycle restarts,
Waking up forlorn,
Going through the motions,
Sleeping in loneliness.

I hate the interlude you placed on my life,
I patiently wait to proceed,
To find love anew,
The day when I can finally forget you.

Footer2.png

Sort:  

Aw man, this one cuts deep. Definitely a heart-felt way to put it. "...the interlude you placed on my life..." was such a brilliant line.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69699.33
ETH 3706.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.27