I Wish I Was Religious (original poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

This is a poem that I wrote this afternoon.
I hope you like it, it's about how I wish I was religious.

jug-2288428_960_720.jpg

I wish I was religious,
I'm not even superstitious.
I wish I knew where I was going,
I'd be really better off knowing.
When everything was getting bad,
I'd just remember that I had

somewhere that I was going.

Somewhere good.


But as much as I want to,
and I really do
I can't believe it,
not even for a minute.

And it's scary


All I have is the shit on this life,
and then I'm gone? That can't be right.
There has to be something more!
But is that just my ego knocking at the door?
I respect all peoples beliefs,
but I also envy the people who believe them.


But do you have to have faith,
just to go to a good place?
Is it not enough to just be a good person,
and not kill, beat, and rape?
Or do you have to go to church every week,
and get dunked naked in water,
have wars, and sacrifices, and build borders?
But STILL I want to be in that sacred club!
Because then I would have fun.
be free.

And maybe then I would be happy.

chains-19176_960_720.jpg


I hope you like it.


By 13 year old giraffe on skates.

Sort:  

I love it @giraffeonskates. And I will answer a lot of your questions above by saying no, You just have to create your own world, make your own rulesd and of course do it in color to bring happiness and have fun. Being religious is not as important as being Spiritual, and that happens through your dreams, meditation, remembering to breathe, asking questions and seeking answers in whatever source you are comfortable with. Know also that your Spirit and Soul is eternal, only the body aches, craves, gets sick and dies, so celebrate life your living and who you are and who you will awaken to be all by your choices, You may seek guidance as you are led in life to do so but remember all the answers that you are need are already inside of you. Day by day allow yourself some quiet time and listen also do things to expand the love in your heart space by giving, not judging anyone or anything and daily find a way to give something and/or be of service to someone. And love yourself and seek to find all of your gifts which are your powers to make you as super as you care to be. I am following you and I will be back to like more of your post.

To pray for the eternal boredom of heaven, or the excruciating boredom of hell, these two sides of the coin we live in life, so live your life well, and you needn't pray to wisps of smoke or curse fanged demons in the night, delight in the chance and change around you, inside you; don't fall to the chants and chains that bind you. Nice poem.

PSX_20180202_061542.jpg
Really good poem.

This is really good. Upped and resteemed.

Nice poem.Upvote and resteem.

Hey giraffo!
Where did you disappear to ? 😐

Wow, I feel like that alot. I think we are free and fun is our nature. Sometimes we just have to clean the filters of perception. Ty much for this.

There might or might not be a god/goddess/gods, I really hope they/he/she/it are, but there really is no proof at current time. As for religion there are some beautiful elements but ultimately they are human made and thus flawed and tainted with the human need to control and have power over others. So even if there is a divine force it is most likely best to communicate and create one’s own rapport with it then use templates created by flawed people.

I used to believe and there are things i know about the universe that I should have not known when i first discovered I did as a kid. That being said there are to many variables and not enough data we understand yet. If there is a divine force it does not constitute that we humans are given a here after. It is also not given that that force is anything more than the collective all that is. quantum physics gives us the observer effect. Nothing happens without it being observed basically. At face value it could be interpreted as that someone would have had to have observed the big bang. There is a problem however as time is not linear and actually all happens at the same time (yup all past, all future, all now happens at once , or is happening , or has happened) so it is totally possible that by observing the effect of it scientifically searching for it ect we might have created it. mind boggling I know but possible. Science is soo cool isn’ it :D

As for survival outside of death- who knows, it is possible. I have seen manifestations of people no longer here but once again even if it was not my mind playing tricks it could just very well be the past bleeding into the now a bit and me catching a glimpse. As every timeline is really only separated by a variance in vibrational speed. In the end I will find out unless someone finds a way to stop or reverse ageing, as neither uploaded consciousness or cloning is really you or me or whatever…

There was a time that I lost my faith after the death of a close friend. I have encountered a lot of death and brutality in my life but always kept my faith. I cannot tell you what was different this time, but it was and I was devastated. Not only did I loose my friend but I lost my celestial parent as well that had literally saved my life through my miserable childhood. As a kid i felt safe because I had my version of the divine, my parents may have not loved me but I always felt my parent out there did. Loosing that gutted me, I was angry and lost and it took me about 10 years to recover a bit of it. I now talk to my version of God/Goddess again, I am no longer sure if he/she/it is really there but it does comfort me to reach out and feel I have something there. I am still terrified of my demise (although I still am not smart enough not to engage in dangerous things or get involved in dangerous situations ) I just no longer have the certainty which sux as i at 50 am approaching it fast. Time rushes the older you get it is scary but i really am hoping for an hereafter because the odd 100 years is just not enough but i guess I will find out it is inevitable.

In the end god/goddess /gods or not what matters is what you make of your life. Strive to be the best version of you you can be and try to leave this place a little better off then it was when you came here ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67