[ORIGINAL POEM] I’ve Been Fighting Demons This Summer

in #poetry6 years ago

california-1768742_1920.jpg

I’ve been fighting demons this summer
They’re asleep nowadays
Because of prescription drugs
A chemical straightjacket

But slowly I will get them out of my body
Jesus could cast out evil spirits
And I’ve been thinking about an exorcism
But it seems too dramatic and dangerous

There’s a question in my head
That has been pumping in my veins all summer
Why me? Why not someone else? Why me?
What did I do to deserve this? Why me?

It’s a complex question without an easy answer
Maybe people don’t always get what they deserve
What if bad things just happens sometimes
And the lost souls just get more and more pain

Why are these demons attacking me?
Because they can, because I’m a lost soul
Because I’m too weak and an easy victim
I don’t have a basic protection, and I’ve been godless

Because I’ve been playing with dark forces
Without knowing what I’ve been doing
This is like begging for demon attacks
New age is not clean, it’s like mingling with horror

But I kind of found God this summer
Something larger than us, something good
Someone answers my prayers, someone wants to help
But I have to ask for help and I need to believe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58