Rolling Ocean Hills

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

....Long lines of bulge rise and fall over bumps in underwater geology. The waiting over, I drop down into a lying position and begin paddling...


Photo by Payton Bissell on Unsplash


Photo by mali maeder from Pexels

I sit and watch as hills rise in front of me. Rolling hills of variations of liquid turquoise green steadily and seemingly gently undulating towards me. With the sun behind me I face the multi-hued and constantly varying landscape. Down on the surface in front of me, in my rippling reflection, my own head so clearly surrounded by a glowing aureole, complete with spiking rays of fractured, convoluting beams of light.

Long lines of bulge rise and fall over bumps in underwater geology. The waiting over, I drop down into a lying position and begin paddling.

One, two, three come passing through and then I see the welcome beautiful monster. I fret for just a second as it almost seems to break over the outer reef, and then I ready myself, as I realize that all its power will instead be released down on me… or with me as I turn and paddle furiously in front of its rapidly accelerating bulk.
Angling my board diagonally towards the down sloping flank as the swell heaves up under my increasingly determined advance, and then; sliding, smoothly, downhill, gaining speed. The angle of my prone form tilts as the hill grows into a mountain, white rough cliffs form and tumble and crash behind me. I stand and loose dull consciousness as time stretches and dilates into a few moments of seeming infinity.


Photo by Aquachara on Unsplash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00