You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: when the spirit says yes - a poem

in #poetry5 years ago

I like the way you explain the entire reasoning behind your poems. It is like you are opening your personal thoughts and feelings to the world and inviting people to get to know who you are on a personal level. It is also nice to know that not everyone gives in to societal pressures. Most of societal ideas are simply fads anyway, and what is 'in' or acceptable one day is not acceptable somewhere else or in another time. I've always believed that we should be ourselves and not necessarily bow down to ideas that go against our own. Most people choose to be followers. I generally choose my own path, regardless of whether it follows the crowd or not.

Sort:  

Thank you!

It can take some time to find our own voice, but everything is so much more comfortable when we do.

Thank you but not really. I'm prepping to go to art school in the fall. ^_^

Oh nice. What kind of art? Or more specifically, what is the end goal of taking the classes?

I'll be getting a 4 year degree in fine arts so the end goal is to be a professional artist. ^_^ The school is pretty interdisciplinary so I'll probably take a mixture of painting, sculpture, photography, and book arts as I like.

That sounds like fun.

The part I'm concerned about is that most (traditional) artists are starving artists and their work is never recognized until after they die.

You could mitigate that by becoming an art teacher or by focusing your skills in digital art where you could use your skills for advertising, movie industry CGI or the gaming industry. I'm sure there are other possibilities but I think those are the biggies.

Enjoy, and good luck in whatever route you choose.

The internet has created a lot more opportunities for artists through social media, print-on-demand, games, licensing, etc. I feel like I'm going to spend the next 4 years working on building an audience so that I have a foundation for when I need to strike out on my own. With a substantial audience, I feel like my options are a lot better.

Yes, that seems logical.
@pbock has already sold several of his art-works on-line. If you work the angles correctly, you could do very well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78