Poem / “Future Self”

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

“Future Self”

42b98bf5574513810cd765ad9fe66ab3--abstract-watercolor-art-beach-watercolor.jpg

Credit:
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/338614465706775017

Beat:

⸶⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸙⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰

Most days, I’m not sure if you’re even here ,
You consume my mind, In rainy days I pry with tears
Imagining my life with a wife and kids,
I fight my depression while writin’ scripts,
Hoping you're there, I stare into the world of the deep blue,
Hoping that you’d be here too.

Distant memories of childhood friends
often plague my mind, Do you remember back then?
The lonely kid whose stomach was big,
Hoping for a friend, so he wrote poetry to convince,
Do you remember those nights where you’d fight the blues?
Writing in your room,
The tidal waves would fight through.

Do you remember the lakes?
The running, the laughter, the classroom space,
The teachers, the leechers, the smiles, the fakes?,
Tell me, do you remember it all?
Or do you shove it into the back of your head,
Like a sailor whose captain was dead
And can’t remember the last time his mouth had been fed,
TELL ME,

Future Ocean, I survived for you,
So tell me why should I cry for you,
Tell me, why should I lie for you?
Cheat, beat, tell me what I should do,
If you're there, come back, rewind and ease my time,
Before this ocean,
Consumes my mind .

By: Ben (HelpingOthers)
6/29/2017

⸶⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸙⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰⸭⸰

Ocean-Motion-Sensation-Celebration (1).jpg

Pic Credit too: Janine Lynne Pilkington's piece "Sunset and the Motion of the Ocean".

Thank you to everyone who's been reading and upvoting my poetry, I appreciate it,
Haven’t been very uplifting poems I know lol, but I have so many emotion based
Ideas that I’d like to get out before I go to uplifting that it’s crazy, thank you for reading and most of all, comment what you think, I appreciate your time, have a great day!

(Disclaimer: I do not own any artwork or youtube music, these belong strictly to owners!)

Sort:  

Your work is definitely better than a 38 reputation! Give yourself a jumpstart by investing a few SBD in @randowhale and also check out @minnowsupport

Thanks man, I was thinking of doing randowwhale, but I'm not even sure how effective it is or what is does ???

This person wrote a post that generally describes randowhale. Some of the numbers adjusted after the HF, but it still is around the same in effect. https://steemit.com/steemit/@kennyskitchen/launching-payitforward-in-conjunction-with-the-activation-of-randowhale-plus-a-complete-walkthrough-of-the-process

Oooo thanks! checked it out, guess Ima start investing in alittle bit more steemit then :O

Thank you, followed you, appreciate you checking out my work :)

Your welcome 😊 looks awesome.

It's a great poem you'll find your future self waiting at home wishing that you took the time to roam and never felt so alone in a skin akin to his own but younger more vibrant and a world ahead. Better get living cause all our future selves are dead. Much love. If your gonna grab art though have the heart to give credit where due.

Damn! Spitting poetry in a poem post haha nice. Oh damn your right about giving credit, they were on pinterest so I was kind of confused where the art came from, but i'ma go look and edit it up, thanks for the comment!!!

Thank you, I work hard at my craft to become better every single day, somedays it gets really hard beacuse I run out of ideas, but one day I hope thousands of people can read my poems, still have a long way to go though lol.

There is something about your writing that I like. Maybe it is the way we both like writing. It is good to see great stories and poems like yours. Keep writing and I will always be here! =)

Thank you so much, same with your stuff, I'm always looking to support talented writers, I really appreciate this comment.

This is excellent my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69420.53
ETH 3671.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23