Poetry #7: Sojourn on Saudade RidgesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

89161114-C49E-4836-A408-99FF27ED9381.JPG

Sojourn on Saudade Ridge

And behold,
The gift beget of my struggle:
Saudade Ridge.
I turn,
To face the setting sun.
Below, I see the stream,
Like a carpenter of the Earth,
who carves its slow work
through the stones of
forgotten times long past.
The salmon,
Now alive with the
warm breath of the
beckoning sky,
Find their way
past the ridge.
The snow,
From last night’s fall,
shimmers
and melts its way
through the tired pine,
to the livid river below.

As it is with all things,
like the melting snow,
I, too,
soon find my way down
Saudade Ridge.

IMG_4791.JPG


Photos were taken in Alaska, with a Sony Alpha5000. VSCO was used for editing.

Sort:  

this poem, wholly different both in tone and, of course, structure from Dakota Docks, reads like viewing your photograph.

A snapshot, a capturing of all the composes a moment.

Again, what I most enjoyed was the added perspective you built into the end of the poem - the narrator's conscious awareness and acknowledgement of the passing of time, the migration of life.

So much in so little, you have a deft touch at saying the most you can through choice words, @horzymandias. Makes for a great read.

Most of the time, but not always, I see a poem as a challenge to compact as much meaning in as little a space as possible. It helps to have an accompanying photo that may keep people on the path with which I want them to specifically interpret my words with.

Also, many thanks for both of your in-depth, quality comments! I apologize for the lateness with which I get this to you.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 00:01:29
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 51.05/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Excellent work, I will follow you and I will be waiting to vote for you in all your publications. Follow me to make our votes reciprocal and achieve our goals together. SUCCESS FOR BOTH ...

Your words, here, hold an unusual power. There is real truth and beauty contained. You captured it:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67688.54
ETH 3821.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55