Poetry #9: Obroni!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

6B454AB6-BDBD-4E68-8C7A-E6237E07D7A9.jpeg

Obroni!

Nyame Nwu na Mawu
God will die
before I do.
I will not fear
this devouring land;
We must learn to spare each other.
For it is here,
That the young must learn
to drink wisely
and breathe slowly.
The Red finds its way
in everything.
Breathe too quickly,
And it settles the mind as well.
It is here,
That I am the child
among children.
Obi nnim a, obi kyerɛ
They promise to teach me
to think less,
And know more.
I will see the rain fall
slower than before.
I am Nsoromma,
An ivory star in a sea of Red-stained black.
My hands are too weak
for the machete:
So I learn to cut
with my eyes instead.
Gye Nyame
“Except for God,”
The preachin’ man cries,
And we dance to a tearful
sermon -
How powerful the weeping,
Watering man can be
in this land of parched dust!

E3598952-E703-49E6-AA22-261C552DA9B1.jpeg


Photos were taken in Okurase, Ghana, by a Sony Alpha5000. VSCO was used for editing.

Sort:  

A poignant write, horzy:)

Thank you! It is inspired directly by my humanitarian trip to Ghana.

What did you do there?

We went to a village called Okurase (which means, simply, "village" in Asante Twi) and assisted in the construction of a square acre of a community garden.

Sounds like a spirit building experience:)

Moving words, by the way you won the black and white animals #tepchallenge, check your wallet, I have already sent you your winnings!

Many thanks! I will gladly be following you to see what other notable works you come across.

Since God cannot die and we are under His protection, we are safe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67710.27
ETH 3812.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55