Poetry: Lies

in #poetry6 years ago

Lies are one thing we all despise, but what if we are powerless to resist being told? Sometimes, we are told lies to protect us but most times it hurts to be fooled.

Truth lies philosophy from pixabay licensed by CC0 Creative commons


On my usual spot
I sat listening to your lies
Just like old times.

A lot of signs you've used
In place of words
And I keep responding with nods

How long do you have to do this
Comforting me deceit,
Whilst you flirt in secret!

I've had enough
Of your truthful lies
Portrayed through your lustful eyes

As ugly as it seems,
I wish I never met ye
Enough of this love spree!

ii
Through the darkest time
I've loved no one else
I wish I could love you less

Friends warned me
Against committing to love
It's time to stop. Enough!

Time lost will be found
If I found the right one
But with you, I'm not done

Building a life with you
Without lies or cheat
Without this having major hit

Enough as my feelings
Now weak and rickety
I'd be here when you're ready.

Thank you for reading. I'm sure you enjoyed this, didn't you? Kindly appreciate via comments or upvote and don't forget to follow @promo-mentors for guidance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67