THE GREAT MOTHER

in #poetry6 years ago

Good day steemian, welcome once again. Though there'd be a change in scenario today as I'd be diverting into poetry. Well don't blame me as I can't help my passion. Today's post is based on my Fatherland - Nigeria . That's where my patriotism is anyway, so don't blame me for always pinning my post on the "Great Eagle".
Based on the current situation of the country - terrorism, kidnapping, corruption and many more; I decided to pen my frustation (That's my strength anyway). Do enjoy... The great mother Nigeria!

Nigeria Open market vendor by Jamie Tubers licensed by Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International

How more will in define a great mother standing on her knee not feet
with promises kindled from a cloud of deceit
Yet she chants, “Arise, O Compatriots!”

A glowing light amongst her peer,
swaying with confidence like an Eagle in the air,
now becoming rickety like an old man that lacks care.

How much more would we watch on,
as she gets raped and looted of her treasure.
Threatened daily by terrorism and political pressure
and her future leaders shooed like an hopeless creature.

What can save her? Agriculture, tourism or sport
Mining, crude oil or transport?
She needs an answer! Enough of this onslaught,
making the sacrifice of her heroes ply the black spot.
After 56years of struggle, her story yields the same result.
Arise, O Compatriots!
Let’s get her out of this rot!

Thank you for reading.

Coat of arms of Nigeria by Thommy licensed by Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal Public Domain Dedication

Check out @promo-mentors - A community where you get mentored on making quality posts. Join them on discord today!

Sort:  

No words can describe the greatness of a mother. A mother's love is beautiful and soft.

Nice read!

Thanks Sire... A mother can't be replaced after all

Yeah. That's a fact.👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55