Birds

in #poetry6 years ago


images (21).jpeg

We met at the park outside your house
I thought my wandering heart has found rest
We soon became on top of the world like birds
But whatever goes up must surely come down

Soon you moved to the other side we talked about
You saw the eagles and hawks with golden wings
My gentle coo and lightweight wings lost their appeal
I wouldn't give up, a bird might die before its buried

I fixed myself with golden feathers joined with flax
You fell in love again and I swooped to pick you
I took you high, fulfilling your dreams and securing your love
Until the sun rose and my flax gave way mid-flight

We fell with a bang and landed on our feet, they said
All I remember was the flax slowly melting
Then swelling, enveloping our bodies
And then the sun made sure we stayed that way

Image source: Pixabay

Sort:  

A beautiful piece. Love the metaphorical comparison you have made. The last paragraph got me though. Thank you for sharing this wonderful writeup @iamthegray.

Smiles

Your comment means a lot to me

Thanks for your kind words and for stopping by

Blessings

Congratulations @iamthegray! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate to the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestockes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89