Roses are Red. Windows Makes me Blue. Linux, how I Love You!

in #poetry6 years ago

Happy Valentine's Day!

Thought I would write a break-up letter to my least favorite OS accompanied by my top 3 reasons to fall in love with Linux. Enjoy!

windowsStinks.jpg

Roses are red
My screen is still blue
Oh, Windows how I hate you!

1. Unobtrusive updates

There is nothing more disheartening than seeing the dreaded "shutting down in 00:00:05" with no option to hold off. In Linux, updates are performed manually (at least, I've never used a Linux distro that jammed an update down my throat). Lubuntu prompts me to perform periodic updates, and I am free to do them whenever I have the opportunity. No need to save my work really fast, panic about what my boss will think logging off in the middle of the day. No drama. No muss. No fuss.

2. Lightweight

The first task for anyone who buys a computer with Windows pre-loaded on it is to delete all the junkware that comes with Windows. Trial security software. Games that aren't actually installed. Reams of free trials that mean my computer takes 10 minutes to boot because these free trials need updates, pop up on screen asking for a login, and constantly invent ways to get on my nerves. Sure, with Linux I have to run sudo apt-get install (insert package name) every once in a while because I don't have something I need, but I save so much time not dealing with the long boot times and loading times I hardly notice.

3. Performance

CentOS is a top open-source option for server builds, and for good reason. It is lightning fast. Linux is not bloated. If you need performance, look no further. She won't blow you away with her looks, but true beauty is not skin-deep.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72