fireworks are colorful tears of a broken heart

in #poetry6 years ago

6611883161_876c645218.jpg
Though we fall apart and split to pieces
our broken souls will find solace in other places

What we used to be, fireflies
what are we now, fading lights
as we sink into shadows
in the embrace of the dark
how we have lost our spark

you were my fire, i loved to burn
we love the skies, called it home
you were my light, sweet illuminate
as my red heart in love radiate

Our lights are out, our colors are bleak
brown and grey and weak
lions have lost their teeth
glutting hyenas wander the street
preying on us while as we seek
another's arms, another's heart

Though we fall apart and split to pieces
our broken souls will still find solace in other places.

Sort:  

This is so beautiful, I love how you bring it back to the opening line. I could gush about how I love this for another paragraph but I have already left you a mini essay on another post lol I hope to see plenty more of your writing!

I have launched a little poetry/prose contest, and would love to hear your take on utopia if you wanted to enter :)

yeah i already entered the contest. left a link of my entry on the comment section of the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73