TAKE ME TO CHILDHOOD — A POETIC PIECE!

in #poetry5 years ago

imageImage Source


The quest for survival
The rich wants to become richer
The poor wants to have a taste of wealth
The foolish wants to be wise
The wise wants to be powerful
The short wants to be seen
The tall wants to dominate
Everybody wants to be felt

My anticipation for adulthood,
All started when mama had power over me
I wanted to have full control of myself
I wanted to be in charge of my life
In charge of my say
In charge of my moves and stands
These were some of my wishes
And God had a way of fulfilling them


Daddy went away
Mummy is old and ill
I now have decision over myself and mummy
I now take decisions of my moves and stands
I am now in charge of my say
I influence the decision of the meal
I even influence that of where she goes
I have power over my livelihood


But am I happy?
Fulfillment of wishes and I want the past back
I want to travel through time
I want to go to when I never knew my problems
I want to go to when I never had worries
What will be served? The house rent?
Then, I thought of how I would be now
Growth comes with regret!


I wanted to be felt
I wanted to be seen
I felt I was tiny and inconspicuous
I thought childhood was a limitation
Please take me to such restriction
Please take me to joy
Please take me to Happiness
And Please take me to freedom


For now I am free but as a slave
I am happy but as a sadist
I am joyful but regretful
The burden is too much on me
My head aches, it will explode
Can I escape this pain and suffering now?
If childhood is slavery to you,
Please take me to childhood!




Itoro Archibong, Writing Junkie!! ✍✍✍

Sort:  

You just spoke my mind, if I have a time machine right now, I am sure going back to childhood again. I want to be held, pampered and loved like those years. Thanks for this piece.

#bigwaves

Thanks Sir imbigdee for stopping by. You indeed need childhood again considering how advanced in age you are. I need childhood too although I'm not far from childhood. 😂💕💕😘😉
🏃 🏃 🏃 🏃

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Adulthood can be so overrated ehn!

Your post was shared by samest for participating in airhawk-project curation.

One Love 💯

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97