KING OF NITHING AT ALL

in #poetry6 years ago

unnamed (1).png

I wear a crown of broken promises.
Trapped in a web of intricately woven lies.
Nothing but a prisoner in my own kingdom.
Watched over by black widow eyes.

My time is nearly over, tis coming to an end.
Courted over by jackals and subjects but I am bereft of friends.
Have I outlived my welcome to rule on past my stay.
As the vultures circle above me, their numbers growing by the day.

My realm lies on the borders of sorrow, my legacy will be nothing but shame.
When I die nobody will mourn me, the chronicles will not mention my name.
I could have been a good and noble king but instead I ruled purely by fear.
Now I sit at the head of the table in a great hall with nobody here.

My advisors fail to advise me, they are merely jesters and fools at my court.
I could buy the hearts of men with a small bag gold but loyalty cannot be bought.
There is no such thing as good man these days, and I shall make all of the usurpers pay.
As I try to hold on this tenuous grip of power but I can feel it all slowly slipping away.

Time it is said waits for no man and it shows no courtesy to even a king.
I was chosen by God to rule over this land, but destiny does not mean a thing.
God gave me the power to judge over life and death, I held lives in the palm of my hand.
But even my great castles and kingdoms will one day all crumble to sand.

Now the sands of time slip through my fingers as I await for the reaper to call.
Kings can topple like dominoes when great empires rise and then fall.
As the dirty rascals line up on the streets to mock me, they know I am on my way down.
For I am a king of nothing at all and heavy does sit the crown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94