Devils

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

samuel-zeller-336980.jpg

Credit: Samuel Zeller

Devils

I work with devils.
I sit with them.
I speak with them,
Then still wish them the best.

But there's a stillness that asks me one hard question.
Will this leave me better off?
My boss, talks a devil's tongue.
His right hand man an evil plan.

I understand I'm just a boy.
I'm 21, the world was an oyster.
But these devils would see it all destroyed,
They want the top and they want me under.

They twist things.
I wish that they would've paid more attention at their Christenings.
Evil souls, they want the world.
But me I need the money.

I do this for my family.
I only do this for my family.
If I die next to these guys,
I pray that God would cut our ties.

by Jarryon Paul

I write poetry daily! If you know how I can become more active in the poetry community on @Steemit feel free to let me know! Upvote if you like. Thanks!

Sort:  

Just keep going babe! Everything is a learning experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69