HAPPINESS

in #poetry6 years ago


source

I guess it was my auntie's fault
that before i was 9 years old
it were my looks that made me happy
she just never stooped praising me

Later when I went to school
I realized I was a bit of a fool
To be so proud about my looks
My happiness shifted towards my books

Oh yes,I studied so hard
Most kids and my teachers thought i was smart
Every time i came home with good grades
Wow, that is fantastic! I was praised

But then came the teenage years
Happiness depended on approval of peers
My marks did not earn me admiration
My looks undergone some deterioration

I had grown fat and puberty came late
I got pimples, making it all still great
I had grown into quite an unpopular kid
Happiness? I seemed to grow far away from it

Throughout my youth however
There was a place, I was never let down
It was my home, it was the presence of my mother
she cared for her kids, truly like no other

After puberty, my appearance improved a bit
Even though I am still not about it
My grades allowed me to further my education
But happiness is another equation

I realized now that being fully happy
Is lying not so much outside me
I wasted most of the time
Trying to find that one thing I desired,
Happiness.

But what I do not know is,
happiness lies in everything,
even the littlest things.

Happiness lies in a beautiful day,
where the sun is up,
and the sky is in a shade of blue.

Happiness lies in the people we love
A lover
A friend
A family member.
Happiness lies in a good cup of coffee,
and a friend we share lovely conversations with.

Happiness lies in wonderful moments,
Happiness lies in music,
the ones we dance and sing along to.
Happiness lies in someone's laughter,
and a smile so bright,
it shines one's heart.

If I am allowed to summarise
Since long I came to realize
That happiness is truly lying within after all
Happiness lies in everything surrounding us.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Happiness is living with no expectations from or dependence on anyone or anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65